Open Science Meetings

Home » Salafism, Piety and Citizenship; understanding Youth Trajectories and Aspirational Imaginaries

Salafism, Piety and Citizenship; understanding Youth Trajectories and Aspirational Imaginaries

Co-chairs
Noorhaidi Hasan (Graduate School of UIN Sunan Kalijaga Yogyakarta, Noorhaidi@hotmail.com/Direktur.pps@uin-suka.ac.id)
Bart Barendregt (Institute of Cultural Anthropology Leiden University, barendregt@fsw.leidenuniv.nl )


Panelists
Yatun Sastramidjaja (University of Amsterdam, y.sastramidjaja@uva.nl)
Chris Chaplin (KITLV Leiden, chaplin@kitlv.nl)
Najib Burhani (LIPI Jakarta, najibburhani@gmail.com)
Jajang Jahroni (UIN Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta, jajang.jahroni@uinjkt.ac.id)
Najib Kailani (UIN Sunan Kalijaga Yogyakarta, najib_kailani@yahoo.com)
Sunarwoto (UIN Sunan Kalijaga Yogyakarta, sunny_dema@yahoo.com)


Topic
Identity, diversity and culture: Inequality and (De)radicalization

Thematic focus
This session addresses different trajectories and ‘aspirational imaginaries’ that shape and construct identities, cultures and politics of youth today. It deals with three important questions as follows: (1) What creates, shapes and orients the identity, lifestyle choices, politics and activism of youth? (2) How do they–as young persons and globalized citizens–shape their identities and respond to new values and tastes emanating from global modernity? (3) How do they endeavor to navigate themselves within the changing global context as a result of identity politics? Panelists in this panel present different, but interrelated sub-themes through interdisciplinary researches that primarily draw on anthropology, political sciences and Islamic studies. While rising tide of pietization, radicalism and terrorism around the world is employed by some panelists as the prism to analyze youth trajectories when exposed toward transnational ideology, the others would explore the ways in which youth are now ready to be more attached to the new world: the free marketplace of ideas and values, cultural hybridity and citizenship. The discussion in this panel is of high relevance with current debates on religion, globalization and resilient society that may draw attention from academics, policy makers, NGO activists and cultural leadership at various levels.

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: